Representative Troy Waymaster to Head Regional State Committee, Provincial Legislators on Tax Policy



Written By: Press Release Posted by David Elliott
Date of publication: 05/14/2021

Representative Troy Waymaster, one of Kansas’ top tax executives, has been appointed co-chair of a binational, non-partisan committee of Midwestern lawmakers that will explore a wide range of issues related to state tax conditions and development and to the management of the State. budgets.

New this year, the Midwestern Legislative Conference (MLC) Fiscal Affairs Committee will provide members with a forum for exchanging information, ideas and strategies related to current income trends, spending needs and critical fiscal and fiscal challenges facing Midwestern states and provinces.

The committee will also address issues related to state fiscal policy, revenue estimation, budget preparation procedures, etc.

“I am happy to take on this role and look forward to working with my colleagues and counterparts in the Midwest,” said the Waymaster representative. “The states and provinces in this region face similar fiscal challenges and opportunities, and we can learn a lot from each other.”

In his role as co-chair, the Waymaster representative will help guide the work of the committee in its efforts to share information and best practices among states and provinces in the Midwest.

The committee will meet for the first time this summer at the 75th Annual Meeting of the Midwestern Legislative Conference, which will be held in Rapid City, South Dakota, July 11-14.

The Waymaster Representative has served as the Kansas House Credit Committee Chair since 2017.

All legislators in the following Midwestern states and Canadian provinces are members of the MLC: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Saskatchewan, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. In addition, members of the legislative assemblies of three Canadian provinces – Alberta, Manitoba and Ontario – are affiliated with the MLC.

The Fiscal Affairs Committee is one of the MLC’s seven interstate and binational committees, supported by staff from the Midwestern Office of the Council of State Governments (CSG).

CSG is a non-partisan, not-for-profit organization that champions excellence in state government by sharing innovative solutions to common problems facing policy makers at the national level.

Waymaster was appointed co-chair of the committee by the 2021 chairman of the Midwestern Legislative Conference, South Dakota Senate Majority Leader Gary Cammack.

Minnesota representative Fue Lee will be the other co-chair of the committee.

For more information about the MLC Fiscal Affairs Committee or the work of the Midwestern Legislative Conference, please contact CSG Midwest Director Mike McCabe at [email protected] or 630-925-1922.

(Information provided with the permission of the Midwestern Legislative Conference.)


About Author

Leave A Reply