Knapton and Hymanson Win Top Awards at Nebraska’s Night at the Lied | national


Senior diving Abigail Knapton and senior male gymnast Evan Hymanson were named 2021 Nebraska Female and Male Athletes of the Year at Tuesday’s A Night at the Lied virtual event.

Hymanson is the seventh Husker gymnast to receive the highest male honor and the third in the past four seasons. He was captain on Nebraska’s fourth-place NCAA team.

The Marlboro, New Jersey native won two titles per event last season and competed in three events in the NCAA Finals. He is also a four-time All-Big Ten academic selection and a three-time Big Ten scholar.

Knapton won the rare honor of winning both the Female Student-Athlete of the Best Female Athlete Awards. The only other female Husker to accomplish this feat was Mikaela Foecke in 2019.

Knapton ended his career as one of the most decorated divers in the history of the program. Omaha graduate Marian took first-team All-America honors on platform and 3-meter events in the NCAAs, becoming the first diver in school history to earn multiple certificates of first team in the same season.

She also became Nebraska’s first Big Ten diving champion, winning the 1-meter and platform events.

In the classroom, Knapton is a three-time Distinguished Big Ten Fellow and a nine-time member of the UN Researcher-Athlete Honor Roll.

Track and field competitor Burger Lambrechts was named Nebraska’s top male athlete. He placed fifth in the shot put at the NCAA indoor championships and first at the Big Tens, and is among the leaders of the Big Ten outdoors.

Taylor Christopulos (men’s gymnastics) and Crystal Elliott (bowling) were named Nebraska’s top freshman performers.

Christopulos was an All-American on vault and named Big Ten Freshman of the Year. Elliott was a key member of the Huskers National Championship team.

The men’s cross country (3,539) and women’s rifle (3,744) teams won the Herman Team GPA awards.

Other rewards:

Exceptional university awards: Grace Brown (soccer), Hayley Densberger (volleyball), Erika Freyhof (cross-country / track women), Andy Jacobs (track women), Abigail Knapton (swimming / diving), Isabelle Murray (swimming), Tucker Sjomeling ( wrestling), Hannah Thiele (women’s golf).

Heart & Soul Award: Emily Cheramie (rifle), Kaitlynn Johnson (women’s cross-country), Kate Smith (women’s golf), Emma Worley (women’s tennis).

Sam Foltz 27 Hero Leadership Award: Noor Ahmed (women’s golf), Kinga Aletto (rifle), Grace Brown (football), Patrick Cacciatore (men’s tennis), Sam Haiby (women’s basketball), Austin Jablonski (football), Chelsey Jones (women’s athletics), Judi Jones ( women’s athletics), Michael Knowles (men’s athletics), Dylan LeClair (men’s gymnastics), Madison Lueger (women’s athletics), Taylor Kissinger (women’s basketball), Ellie Kuckelman (women’s tennis), Lane McCallum (Football), Micaylon Moore (men’s athletics) ), Jessica Pentlarge (swimming and diving), Sam Phillips (men’s gymnastics), Ethan Piper (football), Margaret Pollard (women’s cross-country), Rachel Powers (swimming and diving), Theresa Pujado (soccer), Cassidy Ray (bowling ), Kynsee Roby (women’s gymnastics), Megan Verceles Carr (women’s gymnastics), Courtney Wallace (softball), Megan Whittaker (women’s golf), Riley Zuhn (volleyball).

Source link


About Author

Leave A Reply